A mountain bike without the mountain, please!

Race for Life 2011

Yes, my face goes that colour every time I run!

38 minutes 6 seconds is never going to gain me entry into the Olympics, but last Sunday I finished the St Albans Race for Life 5k, six and a half minutes faster than last year.

As proud as I felt at that moment for raising money for charity and not giving up, I also hated every minute of running round that course, so I’m officially switching from being a ‘runner’ to being a ‘biker’.

Yes, that’s right, Other Half and I have invested our pennies in two brand new mountain bikes that arrived this week – I say pennies when in fact it was many pounds; I cannot believe how expensive it is to get a decent mountain bike! After many, many, many hours of research (“By me!” shouts Other Half in the background), we did get a great web deal on two 2011 Merida Matts 20-MD mountain bikes that were £200 cheaper than their usual selling price. There are a few reasons we are trying out the bike route:

  • Biking has GOT to be easier than running for no other reason than I find running really hard!
  • My sister’s Other Half got a bike 2 months ago and has totally transformed into a ‘Slim Jim’ – we want it to be our magic weight loss bullet too!
  • We have lots of cycle paths near to where we live that don’t involve big hills – I’m a fan of flat paths/gentle slopes (as a beginner!)

It’s just a case now of literally getting on our bikes, in our padded shorts… (more on that after the first ride!)

My current mountain biking kit for beginners: 2011 Merida Matts 20-MD Bike

2 responses to “A mountain bike without the mountain, please!

  1. I’m the sisters ‘Other Half’ who is now a ‘Slim Jim’ – 2 stone lighter to be exact!
    With the ever increasing cost of fuel, car purchases becoming more and more of a luxury item, the availability of cycle to work schemes and an increasing number of paths and roads becoming ‘cycle friendly’ I believe cycling is the future of short to medium length commuting- and it’ll combat the ever increasing obesity problem too!
    See Mr. Cameron, ideas to change this country for the better isn’t difficult!

  2. Thanks Trev, I’m hoping we can emulate both your weight-loss success and enjoyment of riding!

Leave a Reply

