There’s ‘more to life than shoes’ apparently!

As my work life is about to experience a big upheaval, I thought it was time to look out for new potential opportunities. Several months ago, I saw a flyer in my local Starbucks for a women’s group called ‘More To Life Than Shoes‘. I went along to my first meeting a few weeks ago and it was a real mix of women from various backgrounds, at different stages of their lives and careers. 

About 15 of us mingled in small groups, introducing ourselves by name and supplying the small crowd with a quick snapshot of our lives to date.

The main discussion topic was ‘decisions’ – it couldn’t have been more apt for me if I believed in luck / horoscopes / karma etc! We split up into different groups to discuss what influences our decision-making processes, how we prioritise our thinking and the speed involved. Later, we moved into ‘sliding door moments’ when decisions we had or had not made, had shaped our lives in a particular way. This was an easy one for me as I have two:

Randomly choosing Other Half to send an IM to while in an online chatroom
and
3 1/2 years later, accepting a job that meant moving from the North to the South to be with him.

I can report my life is very happily shaped due to both of those decisions!

There was  also a section called ‘The Buzz’ where you bring along any interesting articles, gadgets, tweets etc to share with the group. Finally, we buddied up and each decided one action we would definitely do over the next month, then made a firm decision to contact your buddy during that time to update them on your progress i.e. this means you actually have to do it!

It was a worthwhile way to spend almost 3 hours on a Tuesday night, and I was really inspired by the amount of women who were taking a risk and making changes to their lives. I felt like I was in good company and plan to have some business cards ready for the next meeting…

Leave a Reply

