Coffee and a slice of advice please…

Girls think too much – fact! However, when two girls get together, all those extra words and thoughts mean you can tackle the biggest problems and come up with amazing solutions!

Last weekend, good friend CB and I met up for Starbucks and a girly chat. Amongst delicious sips of skinny latte, we talked about my current work dilemma – how the ideal job I thought I’d got is anything but – and together, we figured out what the next stage should be in my work/life plan. It’s so good to have someone to talk about it who is removed from my personal situation, but at the same time, has similar experiences herself. CB reiterated many thoughts that had run round my head for the past few weeks and as we parted a couple of hours later, I was buzzing as a result of our chat, rather than the espresso (I’m a one shot wimp!)  

Buoyed by the thought of a light at the end of this work tunnel, a phone call later that night from my parents (who knew nothing of my new plan), simply reconfirmed the decisions I had made earlier that day. You know in your heart and mind when something feels right,  but it doesn’t mean you don’t feel nervous at the same time! Breaking news of the plan to my wonderful Other Half at breakfast the next day was scary – not because I didn’t think he would support me – but because I didn’t want him to think that I had failed. He didn’t, of course, and this attitude is one of hundreds of reasons I’m the luckiest girl in the world to have found him. He simply gave me more words of advice and encouragement and, offered to help me progress the plan using his own area of expertise.

Change is a scary thing; it’s much easier to carry on with the familiar each day, bemoaning the life you feel you are missing out on, but doing nothing about it. Taking a risk takes courage; I’m at a point in my life now where I’m prepared to go all out for what I want to do because YOU ONLY LIVE ONCE! I’m scared and excited and nervous and happy – a combination that keeps adding spice to life…

Leave a Reply

