Is the grass any greener on the new job side?

I’m 5 weeks in to my new job/career as Website Content Exec for 6 fashion brands, so it’s time for the first analysis!

The Good…
Proper salary for the first time in 14 months
People in my department are lovely and friendly
My manager has so much knowledge, she will be a great Yoda to me
We are based near lots of great town centre shops
Sample sales are amazing – any 15 items for £10 (includes all clothing, shoes, accessories, hats, jewellery etc)
Lost 5lbs in a month from new job stress!

The Bad…
Parking costs £4.40 a day
Two lunch breaks a week is the norm
Working alongside 6 different brand teams is a constant ‘challenge’
We ‘finish’ at 5.30pm but that’s just a dream…
Every night I go to bed thinking about what needs to be done the next day
I wake up on a Saturday and Sunday morning thinking about what needs to be done on Monday
I miss my workmates from the exhibition company I temped at 

The Ugly…

The car park has a strange old toothless bloke who takes your money and leers at you, while trying to engage you in pointless conversation 
I have visited the gym 4 times in 4 weeks – it used to be 4 times per week!
I always thought being conscientious was a good thing, until I had a hundred things to think about! Now I don’t know how to turn off at the end of the day…  

I’m no maths whizz, but at this point I’m feeling about 60/40 in favour of the job. Just goes to show, the grass might look greener on the other side but when you get there, it’s actually just a different shade…

Leave a Reply

