To 5k or not to 5k… that is the question!

I have been pondering this question for a few months now. There are a couple of local 5k runs for Cancer Research in June and July and, despite never having been a runner in my life, I am wondering if this might be the push I need to become one!

I keep mentioning it tentatively to people in the hope that if I say it out loud enough times, I will actually have to do it! I asked my trainer at the gym to devise a new fitness programme for me to incorporate 5k training and he gave it to me today. On average, I can run 2k before needing to stop and walk for a while and I don’t know if I can improve quick enough! He seems to think I’ll have enough time to build the stamina needed, but part of me is now worried about letting him down. You don’t have to run the whole way round the course but for me, if I was going to do it, that would be the whole point of entering. Of course, I also hope that the side effect of training will give me those toned abs and killer legs that would be oh so handy for the summer time..! :o)

So, should I take the plunge and give it a go? Or should I train for a good few months and try a run later in the year?

Leave a Reply

