Have you fallen victim to warmth over style?

Let me start by saying that I love being 34. I think I’m ageing well in the wrinkle department (thanks to my self-imposed put-a-hat-over-your-face-when-sunbathing rule), I don’t feel the need to hide behind a mask of make-up before I leave the house and, I have self-confidence gathered from all of my life experiences to date. However, it seems that no matter how much you promise not to think or say any of those things that ‘old people’ say (ie anyone over 21), it eventually occurs to you that they might actually be on to something!

For the past 6 weeks, I have had to park my car and walk half a mile to work. It was during this journey of ‘accidental exercise’ (quote from The Biggest Loser!) every morning and evening that I realised a pair of trainers would be much more comfortable to wear during the walk, despite the fact they don’t look ‘bang on trend’ with a skirt or leggings. When it’s raining and windy, it’s actually easier to pop the hood up on my coat than fiddle on with an umbrella. I started wearing black socks with a pair of ballet pumps while a blister healed but it turns out, socks keep your feet warm and stop you getting another blister! Not so long ago, I would have grimaced at the thought of comfort over style yet I seem to be slipping into this without much resistance on my part. Being warm and comfortable suddenly seems like an obviously great idea and it’s not like it was a well-kept secret – parents and grandparents have harped on for years about the benefits of wearing a coat on a Friday night out or wearing a pair of long johns under your trousers… Aaaaargh, nooooooo!

Phew, my 34-year-old, not 84-year-old self has just kicked back in..!

So what’s your guilty warmth over style secret?

One response to “Have you fallen victim to warmth over style?

  1. I like to wear big thick walking socks to work to keep my feet toasty warm all day long!

Leave a Reply

